CoSA Awards Program

The Council of State Archivists (CoSA) Awards Program is pleased to acknowledge individuals, institutions, and programs that have enriched and strengthened our nation's state and territorial archives. The Awards Program rewards innovative efforts and provides encouragement for the development of new and remarkable projects. By recognizing exemplary achievements, the CoSA hopes to inspire others to make similar contributions to the field of government archives. The awards will be presented at the CoSA annual meeting and all recipients will be recognized on CoSA's website and other communication outlets.

For more information about each award, directions for applying, and a list of past recipients, click on the titles below.

Sample Press Release

Award winners can use this Sample Press Release to help publicize their award.

2024 Nominations, Selection, and Presentation Schedule

May 17, 2024June 5, 2024: Deadline extended for nominations - 11:59pm Eastern

June 14, 2024: Announcement of award recipients

September 18, 2024: Awards presented at CoSA Annual Meeting

The Online Nomination Form may be used to nominate an individual or institution for multiple awards, though those submitting the form should be mindful of the requirements of the various categories.

The Council of State Archivists Awards Program is generously sponsored by

Family Search logo